Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Illinois State Scholars Announced
Illinois State Scholars Announced
Erik Young
Friday, December 14, 2018

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                 

December 14, 2018                                                                                                                                                                                                       


Illinois Student Assistance Commission congratulates eight (8) Sullivan High School students for their exceptional academic achievement


Sullivan, IL – Principal Erik Young is pleased to announce that eight (8) students from the Sullivan High School graduating Class of 2019 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.


The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, confers this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, more than 21,000 honorees join the other top students who have been honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.  


Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 757 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.


From Sullivan High School principal, Erik Young, “We are extremely proud of the hard work and dedication by these students.  This is a great honor for these students, and they should be proud of their achievement.”


The following Sullivan High School students were named 2019 Illinois State Scholars: Brett Berger, Natalie Drury, Broderick Goss, Coleton Ingram, Spencer Johnson, Paige McLaughlin, Esther Miller, and Dalton Rogers.


“In this 60th year of the Illinois State Scholar Program, we commend another class of outstanding students that will lead us into the future,” said Eric Zarnikow, executive director of ISAC. “Congratulations to these Scholars for their hard work and accomplishments, and congratulations to the families, principals, teachers, counselors, coaches, mentors, and all of the other individuals who not only help our students find the path that will allow them to flourish, but also support them every step of the way.”


While the State Scholar recognition does not include a monetary prize, honorees will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC and a personalized Certificate of Achievement. Honorees can also download a digital Illinois State Scholar badge that can be displayed on their online profiles and social media platforms, and shared with high school counselors, prospective colleges, employers, family members and others.  A complete list of the 2019-20 Illinois State Scholars can be found on ISAC’s website.  

All students, including State Scholars, are encouraged to complete their 2019-20 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) as soon as possible.  The FAFSA is used to determine a student’s eligibility for federal and most state and institutional financial aid available for any type of postsecondary education, including vocational education, certificates, and two or four year degree programs.


ISAC offers free financial aid and college access events to assist students and families with the college-going process. Students can also visit the ISAC Student Portal for college planning, financial aid and financial literacy information and free tools, as well as information on how to contact the ISACorps, a group of recent college graduates who act as near-peer mentors and provide one-on-one assistance and mentoring.  Students can also get answers to their college-going and financial aid questions sent directly to their phones by signing up for ISAC College Q&A, ISAC’s free text messaging service. In addition, ISAC offers assistance through the agency’s call center, 1-800-899-4722 (ISAC).

Brett Berger

Natalie Drury

Broderick Goss

Coleton Ingram

Spencer Johnson

Paige McLaughlin

Esther Miller

Dalton Rogers